Parliamentary Elections at Beirut Arab University In Cooperation with LADE

04 April 2022


The Human Rights Center at Beirut Arab University, in cooperation with the LADE, organized a workshop about the current electoral law. Mr. Mohammad Jbara, the coordinator, started the workshop by introducing the law since Lebanon adopts in its current electoral law on the "proportional voting system". The law divided Lebanon into 15 major (geographical) electoral districts, which in turn are divided into smaller districts. According to the law, each district is allocated a number of parliamentary seats; the least is 5 and the maximum of 13, to fill 128 seats in the Lebanese Parliament.

Then Dr. Rima Adhami, University Professor at the Faculty of Law at the Lebanese University, gave a detailed explanation of the electoral law and the electoral quotient, which is calculated based on the equation of the number of voters in each district, divided by the number of its seats. For example, if the number of voters in a district reaches 100,000 actual voters, and the district includes 10 seats, the result will be 10,000 votes.

Adhami explained also how the sectarian and religious divisions of every list, noting the loopholes in this law, especially that it divided the districts and governorates according to the Lebanese composition.

At the end of the workshop Mrs Amani Al Hashimi, a coordinator at LADE in Beirut, gave a detailed explanation, about the role of LADE before and during the parliamentary elections. In addition, the elections are supervised by a special body called the “Supervisory Commission for Election”, which consists of 11 members, and practices its independent role, in direct coordination with the Minister of Interior and Municipalities.